Yes, today Ethan has his first real fever. I could tell he was acting strange from the moment he woke up this morning, and the fact that he fell asleep after being awake for only two hours. Then, as I crawled into bed to comfort him, I could feel his body on fire. He has been sleeping for most of the day. He is just not himself, but obviously not too ill not to enjoy his new Curious George movie, or to nurse constantly.

Why do fevers scare us so much? I think it is just natural that as parents we hate seeing our children suffer at all. But I keep reminding myself that the sign of a fever is actually a good thing, not bad…well I think you know what I mean. It means that his body is heating up to fight off whatever kind of bacteria or infection is trying to invade. Aren’t our bodies abilities to heal amazing!

I know that this is just the beginning of many sicknesses and injuries that we will endure watching our little man grow, so I must brace myself and remember that it is all normal, and very natural.

Being a parent is about being vulnerable. I find myself feeling this way often. Thank goodness for such a great support system of friends and family to help us talk these things through.

