Yesterday I had a friend over for a visit, and she brought over lunch for all of us with her. It was a delicious soup that she had made called Chicken Ginger Soup. I must say I was a bit skeptical about eating soup on a rather warm spring day, but once I tried it, I was in heaven! It was so simple and pure, you could taste the healing qualities in every bite. After she left I was still craving more, and since I just happen to have had all the ingredients on hand, I made a pot of it for our family. (I actually just woke up this morning and ate a bowl for my breakfast). So after all this raving, I will share the recipe, as I’m sure she wouldn’t mind at all.

Chicken Ginger Soup

1 Whole Chicken

1 Piece of Fresh Ginger (apprx 2-3 inches long)

1 bunch green onions

1 Cup Brown rice (The good stuff, not the instant)

1 Lemon

Place the whole chicken in a large soup pot and cover with water. Peel the ginger and cut into rounds, put in pot with chicken. ( I also added a stalk of celery and a few peeled whole carrots to the pot, but it is not called for). I also added some sea salt in the water which gave it a great flavor in the end. Simmer the chicken until it starts to fall apart, about 1 1/2-2hrs. Remove chicken, cool slightly and then shred. Strain broth to remove ginger pieces and vegetables if you used them. Skim off any floaties, and place broth back in pot. Add Chopped green onions and brown rice to broth. Add about 1/2 -3/4 of the shredded chicken back to the pot, saving the rest for chicken salad, etc. Simmer for about 50 minutes until the rice is cooked through. Taste for seasoning, salt and pepper if needed.

Serve with fresh squeezed lemon on top right before eating.

Delish! Thanks Sally!

