There is hardly a day that goes by where I do not realize how much my little boy is growing up. Like everyone says, it really does happen quickly. Almost everyday is something new. A new word he is trying to express, a new animal noise, a new gesture, a new facial expression, a new scream, or cry, or laugh. The list goes on and on.

Especially now that he is not nursing he seems like he is not my “baby” anymore. It is both joyus and sad. Nap times and bed times used to be such a struggle. Now he just snuggles in next to us and shuts his eyes , wiggles a bit, but eventually falls asleep on his own. I can honestly say, I never thought that would happen! Don’t get me wrong, he is far from being a “perfectly behaved child”, whatever that is anyways…but he is maturing in his own ways. Watching him get excited about the world around him makes me get excited too. Things that I usually take for granted, I now pay attention to.

Last week I left him at Grandma’s house for 6 hrs, and she said he didn’t fuss once. He is still quite the mama’s and daddy’s boy, but he is growing much more independent every day. I am happy that we still have 5 mths together before the new baby comes, but I am also excited to see them interact and build their very own relationship. I have visions of them snuggled up next to each other in our bed, and chasing each other around the house, getting into all sorts of trouble, and creating such beautiful memories.

Little boys are so sweet. There isn’t a day that goes by where DH and I both don’t say how lucky we are to have such a sweet, spirited child.

