So this will be our 3rd summer at our house, and every year I have planted a garden in a different spot. I am still learning. The issue is sun. Or lack thereof in our yard due to our 4 very large shade trees. Finding a spot that anything will grow is a bit tricky. So this year I planted most of the garden in the only real spot there is sunlight for most of the day-by the garage. There was a flowerbed and a fence already in place there, and I dug up and transplanted all the flowers and bushes elsewhere, and this year added lots of compost, and good soil amendments and made this my garden. I also had the awful task of digging up grass and turning those old grassy areas into rich soil in which to plant my garden. This year I am attempting to grow lots of herbs. Basil, parsley, thyme, sage, rosemary, oregano, chives, cilantro, and mint. Most are potted, a few in the ground. Then in my sunny area I planted 2 each of yellow squash and zucchini plants, 8 pepper plants, (4 red, 4 green), 12 tomato plants, some grape tomato, some early variety, and some later season variety, and sugar snap peas. In my not so sunny area, I have lettuce and a row of bush green beans. So far after all the rain we’ve had in the last few weeks I expect to see some major growth here real soon, as well as lots of weeds:( Here are a few pics of this year’s garden.

